• Member Info
      • Native Language:
      • Turkish
      • Home Country:
      • Turkey
      • Current Location:
      • Turkey

Post My grammar mistakes

Hello everyone, I am a college student who studies English for now. I want to be good in grammar but being good in grammar needs experience and also it is up to seeing your mistakes, so I hope usingenglish can help me on my way.
    Here are the my questions about tenses.

According to studies, the recent trend of keeping maiden names after marriage is quite widespread and ________(cause) any major problems in marriages at the moment.

I said isn't causing but the answer is doesn't cause.

I think that the red colored text is giving us the clue, therefore i wrote the verb in present continuous tense.

Women ________(use) their maiden names increasingly since the 1970's.

I said have used but the answer is have been using

Okay, this can be written by using present perfect continuous tense, no problem, but also present perfect tense is sounds good to me.

Throughout the first few months of their marriage, Jeff and Donna _________(spend) most of their conversation time discussing their expectations from each other and from the marriage itself...

I said will have spent but the answer is will spend.

I don't know but both of these sounds good to me,however, i am wrong again.

By the way I am a student as I said before, if I can learn what I am doing wrong then I might improve my English, so I am asking for your helps.
    If you have suggestions for me to understand tenses better, I am listening to you carefully.
    Last edited by murattopak; 30-Sep-2013 at 16:57.

• Member Info
      • Native Language:
      • British English
      • Home Country:
      • England
      • Current Location:
      • Czech Republic

Re: My grammar mistakes

Welcome to the forum, murattopak.
    Quote Originally Posted by murattopak View Post