English Teacher
Native Language
English
Home Country
Ireland
Current Location
Ireland
Hello everyone,

I have been offered a scenario in which I would be self-employed in Spain (publicized by a local school) to teach English to a diverse set groups.... including children aged 3-5 who have no English.

I have no Spanish... or curriculum.

I am currently studying a TEFL course but there ain't any mention of teaching this sort of group.

Should I proceed with this offer? :oops:

Thank you in advance

Raymott

VIP Member
Member Type
Academic
Native Language
English
Home Country
Australia
Current Location
Australia
No, you're not ready. (My purely anonymous opinion).
By the way, do you really say "ain't", and use four dots for a non-terminal ellipsis when you're writing formal English?

Tdol

No Longer With Us (RIP)
Staff member
Native Language
British English
Home Country
UK
Current Location
Japan
I would be very wary of teaching children that young without the appropriate training, but I have only taught adults.

emsr2d2

Staff member
Member Type
English Teacher
Native Language
British English
Home Country
UK
Current Location
UK
Spain is full of native speakers teaching really young children - many of them have no experience, no qualifications and no real idea what they're doing. Having said that, a few of them seem to have found themselves a real niche - they love it, are managing to wing it and the kids are having a lot of fun. This is the exception. When I lived in Madrid, I shared a flat with a 20-year-old Brit who had come over on a British Council scheme and was thrown into a classroom as the English-teaching assistant to 25 six-year-olds. She came to enjoy it but for the first three months or so, she spent most evenings in tears. She had no idea what she was doing, the school offered little support in the way of any kind of curriculum and she had no experience with young children.