[Vocabulary] Which is more common "wood" or "woods"?

Status
Not open for further replies.

naweewra

Member Type
Student or Learner
Native Language
Thai
Home Country
Thailand
Current Location
Thailand
Hello,

In the dictionary I checked, it says that both the singular "wood" and the plural "woods" can be used to refer to a "forest". I'm just wondering which is more common. Is it a BE VS AE thing?

And is the wood(s) the same as the forest?

Thank you.

Nawee

Gillnetter

Key Member
Member Type
English Teacher
Native Language
English
Home Country
United States
Current Location
United States
"Woods" is used in AmE.

A "forest" is much bigger. See the "synonyms" section here:

Forest | Define Forest at Dictionary.com
This may be regional, but as a young man I worked as a logger (sometimes called a lumberjack) in the states of Oregon and Washington. We would cut down trees, haul them to a landing site, and load trucks with logs which went to a mill. We would call any area in which we worked "the woods". Sometimes we would have contracts near towns and sometimes the contracts were in large state and federal forests. Where we worked made no difference. We would always say that we were going to the woods to work. This carried through to recreational activities. If I was going to go fishing in a stream or a lake I would say that I'm going to the woods today.

SoothingDave

VIP Member
Member Type
Interested in Language
Native Language
American English
Home Country
United States
Current Location
United States
I can agree with that. I was thinking more of place names than use in casual speech. I, too, would speak about going out in the woods.

Rover_KE

Staff member
Member Type
Retired English Teacher
Native Language
British English
Home Country
England
Current Location
England
We've discussed this before but I can't find the thread.

In BE we also say 'There's a wood behind my house'.

Barb_D

Staff member
Member Type
Other
Native Language
American English
Home Country