• Member Info
      • Native Language:
      • Malay
      • Home Country:
      • Malaysia
      • Current Location:
      • Malaysia

American graduate or US graduate

Hi. Just a simple question that's been bothering me. I graduated from a university in the US. I was an international student (I'm from Malaysia) there, so should I refer myself as 'American graduate' or 'US graduate' or any other way?

The reason I asked is because from my understanding 'American' refers to a citizen of the US; that said, American graduates are graduates whose nationality is American.

I came across people who corrected me when I referred my Malaysian friends graduated from Japan as 'Japan graduates'. They said 'Japanese graduates' instead.

Could you please explain to me which way is correct or does it not matter at all?

Thanks in advance!

• Member Info
      • Native Language:
      • British English
      • Home Country:
      • England
      • Current Location:
      • Ireland

Re: American graduate or US graduate

Quote Originally Posted by afm14 View Post
    Hi. Just a simple question that's been bothering me. I graduated from a university in the US. I was an international student (I'm from Malaysia) there, so should I refer myself as 'American graduate' or 'US graduate' or any other way?

The reason I asked is because from my understanding 'American' refers to a citizen of the US; that said, American graduates are graduates whose nationality is American.

I came across people who corrected me when I referred my Malaysian friends graduated from Japan as 'Japan graduates'. They said 'Japanese graduates' instead.

Could you please explain to me which way is correct or does it not matter at all?

Thanks in advance!
    "A graduate of a US university" works.

• Member Info
      • Native Language:
      • English
      • Home Country:
      • United States
      • Current Location:
      • United States

Thanks in advance!