Teaching English via news - what do you think?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lauris Olups

Member Type
English Teacher
Native Language
Latvian, Lettish
Home Country
Latvia
Current Location
Latvia
Hi!

I'm an English teacher working for a company using the direct method, but lately there have been two groups whose level is a bit too good for that, so we've been reading the latest news I've prepared, with me explaining the new words, grammar and anything else they don't understand or make mistakes with, as we go. The lessons are really relevant, interesting and fun for everyone. So I thought of doing something similar, but finding my own students instead.

The possible downside of this method is that there is no structured plan or exams. So it's just in the process - the relevant news and learning language that is actually used in the world around us. Plus I'm an active, extroverted person which makes me a teacher students usually like working with.

So, do you have any opinions of suggestions as to how well this would work, and what should be taken into account?

Tdol

No Longer With Us (RIP)
Staff member
Native Language
British English
Home Country
UK
Current Location
Japan
There are sites like this one that produce lessons based on the news. You gain in areas like topicality and often interest, but the downside is that the lessons may have a short lifespan and not be recyclable. You also have to take into account the culture and expectations of the learners- gay marriage may be in the news in some countries, but it might make for a difficult lesson in some places.

Lauris Olups

Member Type
English Teacher
Native Language
Latvian, Lettish
Home Country
Latvia
Current Location
Latvia