• Member Info
      • Native Language:
      • Chinese
      • Home Country:
      • China
      • Current Location:
      • China

Question How to learn english well

Hello,I am a English major student from china,a freshman of CUMT(CHINA UNIVERSITY OF MINING&TECHNOLOGY)
    Althourgh English is my major,I don't like it any more.I daren't speak English in front of public.I hope teacher who is English native speaker could supply some suggestions for me.Such as how to speak English well,how to write a beautiful essay,how to learn grammer and so on.
    I want to know how the English native speaker study english.Thank you very much.

• Member Info
      • Native Language:
      • American English
      • Home Country:
      • United States
      • Current Location:
      • United States

Welcome to our forums.
    It will not be useful to you to know how native speakers learn. There are so many things we do by instinct, because we know it sounds right, because we know if feels right -- there are so many things we don't make decisions about, but just write or speak -- that it would be impossible to explain.

If I said to you "Tell me how to learn Mandarin quickly. I want to speak perfect Mandarin, write it perfectly, understand the grammar and so on" would you think it was possible? People can certainly learn a second, third, fourth language (or more) but it won't happen quickly.

Remember to capitalize the word English every time, and proper nouns, like China.
    Leave a space after your punctuation marks.

The best thing you can do it read as much as you can, listen to English radio, watch English television, etc. Pay attention to the way people speak and write.
    I'm not a teacher, but I write for a living. Please don't ask me about 2nd conditionals, but I'm a safe bet for what reads well in (American) English.

• Member Info
      • Native Language:
      • British English
      • Home Country:
      • UK
      • Current Location:
      • UK