Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. englishhobby's Avatar
    • Member Info
      • Native Language:
      • Russian
      • Home Country:
      • Russian Federation
      • Current Location:
      • Russian Federation

    • Join Date: Jun 2009
    • Posts: 1,681
    #1

    Books like Harlequins: is it a good metaphor?

    While reading about the problem of the decrease in reading I came across such a sentence: People love reading books like Harlequins, which cannot offer us any interesting problems to consider.

    Do you think a native speaker of English could have written such a phrase? Is it understandable?
    Last edited by englishhobby; 13-Apr-2014 at 09:17.
    If I were a native speaker of English, I would never shut up. :-)

  2. emsr2d2's Avatar
    • Member Info
      • Native Language:
      • British English
      • Home Country:
      • UK
      • Current Location:
      • UK

    • Join Date: Jul 2009
    • Posts: 41,918
    #2

    Re: Books like Harlequins: is it a good metaphor?

    As it stands, I can't see any grammatical errors. However, without knowing what "Harlequins" is supposed to mean, it's not possible to say for certain that the sentence is OK.
    Remember - if you don't use correct capitalisation, punctuation and spacing, anything you write will be incorrect.

  3. Raymott's Avatar
    • Member Info
      • Native Language:
      • English
      • Home Country:
      • Australia
      • Current Location:
      • Australia

    • Join Date: Jun 2008
    • Posts: 24,104
    #3

    Re: Books like Harlequins: is it a good metaphor?

    "Harlequin" is a publishing company, related in some way to Mills&Boon. They publish "romances" - love stories. Girl meets Man; some perceived problem prevents them from getting together for 196 pages; then the problem is resolved - Girl gets Man.
    http://www.harlequinbooks.com.au/

  4. MikeNewYork's Avatar
    • Member Info
      • Native Language:
      • American English
      • Home Country:
      • United States
      • Current Location:
      • United States

    • Join Date: Nov 2002
    • Posts: 24,983
    #4

    Re: Books like Harlequins: is it a good metaphor?

    I am used to seeing that as "Harlequin romances" rather than "Harlequins".

  5. Raymott's Avatar
    • Member Info
      • Native Language:
      • English
      • Home Country:
      • Australia
      • Current Location:
      • Australia

    • Join Date: Jun 2008
    • Posts: 24,104
    #5

    Re: Books like Harlequins: is it a good metaphor?

    Quote Originally Posted by englishhobby View Post
    Do you think a native speaker of English could have written such a phrase? Is it understandable?
    By the way, it's not a metaphor. Yes, that is consistent with a native speaker's sentence. Yes, it's understandable if you know that 'Harlequins' are a type of book; otherwise it's probably not. I suppose it's rather like a reference to reading Penguins.

  6. emsr2d2's Avatar
    • Member Info
      • Native Language:
      • British English
      • Home Country:
      • UK
      • Current Location:
      • UK

    • Join Date: Jul 2009
    • Posts: 41,918
    #6

    Re: Books like Harlequins: is it a good metaphor?

    I prefer to eat P-P-P-Penguins.
    Remember - if you don't use correct capitalisation, punctuation and spacing, anything you write will be incorrect.

Similar Threads

  1. [Answered] Are comic books good for reading?
    By kite in forum Ask a Teacher
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 17-Sep-2013, 03:42
  2. Replies: 10
    Last Post: 25-Jan-2013, 15:34
  3. is good for carrying your books
    By navi tasan in forum Ask a Teacher
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 07-Jan-2010, 10:36
  4. Any good books for...?
    By Tiroloco in forum Teaching English
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 17-Aug-2008, 22:40
  5. being wiped out of his good books.
    By vil in forum Ask a Teacher
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 14-Mar-2008, 10:20

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •