• Chinese
      • Home Country:
      • China
      • Current Location:
      • China

"had had"

Hi,

I once said a sentence like this.

"I studied all the past exams and quizzes to prep for the final, but when I was sitting in the classroom taking the final, I realized that the final is way more difficult than any past exam I ever had (here I know that grammatically, I was supposed to use past perfect, which is "had had"."

But how about in spoken English? Is it mandatory? "had had" sounds weird to me anyway...

Thank you!

• Member Info
      • Native Language:
      • British English
      • Home Country:
      • UK
      • Current Location:
      • UK

Re: "had had"

Although not strictly correct, I don't see a big problem with "I ever had" vs "I had ever had". I reckon I would use either. In speech, if I were using the pluperfect (the name for that tense), I'd use a contraction: "...I'd ever had."

PS: To nitpick, remember to close your brackets (granted it may be a typo), and even enclosed in speech marks, "had had" still needs to be capitalised, being at the start of a sentence. Other than that, well done!

[Not a teacher]

• Member Info
      • Native Language:
      • American English
      • Home Country:
      • United States
      • Current Location:
      • Brazil

Quote Originally Posted by LeTyan View Post
    Hi,

I once said a sentence like this.

"I studied all the past exams and quizzes to prep for the final, but when I was sitting in the classroom taking the final, I realized that the final is way more difficult than any past exam I ever had (here I know that grammatically, I was supposed to use past perfect, which is "had had"."

But how about in spoken English? Is it mandatory? "had had" sounds weird to me anyway... Mandatory? I won't say, but it's surely more elegant.

Thank you!
    Quote Originally Posted by Calis View Post