Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. Newbie
    Student or Learner
    • Member Info
      • Native Language:
      • Spanish
      • Home Country:
      • Mexico
      • Current Location:
      • Mexico

    • Join Date: Apr 2014
    • Posts: 1
    #1

    "No active" is right?

    I have this doubt, I sent an email and didn't double check. Don't know if no active is grammarly correct.



    Total Users 1272186
    Active 1115247
    No Active 156938


    Best regards.

  2. Banned
    Other
    • Member Info
      • Native Language:
      • English
      • Home Country:
      • Canada
      • Current Location:
      • Canada

    • Join Date: Apr 2007
    • Posts: 4,146
    #2

    Re: "No active" is right?

    Quote Originally Posted by tanialugo00 View Post
    I have this doubt, I sent an email and didn't double check. Don't know if 'no active' is grammatically correct.



    Total Users 1272186
    Active 1115247
    No Active 156938


    Best regards.
    Write the whole sentence first.

  3. Editor, UsingEnglish.com
    English Teacher
    • Member Info
      • Native Language:
      • British English
      • Home Country:
      • UK
      • Current Location:
      • Laos

    • Join Date: Nov 2002
    • Posts: 59,744
    #3

    Re: "No active" is right?

    Inactive?

  4. Matthew Wai's Avatar
    VIP Member
    Interested in Language
    • Member Info
      • Native Language:
      • Chinese
      • Home Country:
      • China
      • Current Location:
      • Hong Kong

    • Join Date: Nov 2013
    • Posts: 8,114
    #4

    Re: "No active" is right?

    Dormant?

    Not a teacher.

  5. Raymott's Avatar
    VIP Member
    Academic
    • Member Info
      • Native Language:
      • English
      • Home Country:
      • Australia
      • Current Location:
      • Australia

    • Join Date: Jun 2008
    • Posts: 24,475
    #5

    Re: "No active" is right?

    I think you mean Not Active. 'No Active' is wrong, but it's an understable typo, given that your language is Spanish.

  6. Banned
    Other
    • Member Info
      • Native Language:
      • English
      • Home Country:
      • Canada
      • Current Location:
      • Canada

    • Join Date: Apr 2007
    • Posts: 4,146
    #6

    Re: "No active" is right?

    Quote Originally Posted by Raymott View Post
    I think you mean Not Active. 'No Active' is wrong, but it's an understable typo, given that your language is Spanish.
    You are probably right, but "No active" is also possible, especially if the capital N is deliberate' (which it probably isn't)
    'No active members were in favor of doing that.'

  7. MikeNewYork's Avatar
    VIP Member
    Academic
    • Member Info
      • Native Language:
      • American English
      • Home Country:
      • United States
      • Current Location:
      • United States

    • Join Date: Nov 2002
    • Posts: 24,982
    #7

    Re: "No active" is right?

    "No active" does not work in that chart.

  8. Banned
    Other
    • Member Info
      • Native Language:
      • English
      • Home Country:
      • Canada
      • Current Location:
      • Canada

    • Join Date: Apr 2007
    • Posts: 4,146
    #8

    Re: "No active" is right?

    Quote Originally Posted by MikeNewYork View Post
    "No active" does not work in that chart.
    Oh, I finally realized it related to that. :(
    Last edited by 2006; 26-Apr-2014 at 05:13. Reason: i

  9. Banned
    Other
    • Member Info
      • Native Language:
      • English
      • Home Country:
      • Canada
      • Current Location:
      • Canada

    • Join Date: Apr 2007
    • Posts: 4,146
    #9

    Re: "No active" is right?

    Quote Originally Posted by MikeNewYork View Post
    "No active" does not work in that chart.
    Yes, I completely overlooked the chart. (: Where is the dunce hat?

  10. Banned
    Other
    • Member Info
      • Native Language:
      • English
      • Home Country:
      • Canada
      • Current Location:
      • Canada

    • Join Date: Apr 2007
    • Posts: 4,146
    #10

    Re: "No active" is right?

    Last edited by 2006; 26-Apr-2014 at 05:32.

Similar Threads

  1. Using "continue" in passive for or active form?
    By honeyhoney in forum Ask a Teacher
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 31-Jan-2013, 13:20
  2. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 17-Sep-2012, 04:23
  3. "being pro-active"?
    By banmai in forum Ask a Teacher
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 26-Mar-2012, 01:48
  4. confusing words "expressed" or "express" and "named" or"names"
    By Dawood Usmani in forum Ask a Teacher
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 26-Oct-2007, 19:33
  5. active and passive about "been"
    By endeavor6636 in forum Ask a Teacher
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 25-Jul-2006, 10:00

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •