Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4 LastLast
    • Member Info
      • Native Language:
      • Bosnian
      • Home Country:
      • Bosnia Herzegovina
      • Current Location:
      • Bosnia Herzegovina

Why are so many native English speakers bad at writing their own language?

I have been using Internet for 15 years. Every time I see anything written by native English speakers (Facebook, Twitter, forums, blogs, websites, e-mails etc.), I notice that most of them, even educated ones, make a lot of mistakes in pretty basic things. They misspell many common words, can't distinguish between homophones and have bad grammar. Their writing skills in general seem to be very poor and nobody seems to care about it. People who studied English as a foreign language tend to write much better, but even when I see immigrants who moved to an English speaking country when they were about 10 years old (and couldn't speak English before that), their writing is often perfect. Why is that? And how is it possible?

• Member Info
      • Native Language:
      • English
      • Home Country:
      • Australia
      • Current Location:
      • Australia

Re: Why are so many native English speakers bad at writing their own language?

That's possibly true. But can you always tell who is a native speaker?
    Yes, to someone who likes English, or writing and language in general, most people who write informally on the web, and to newspapers' "Letters to the editor", etc. are semi-literate. English is a difficult language to get right when writing. It's very easy to get "your, you're" and "there, their, they're" wrong. Non-native speakers who are bad at learning language probably simply don't write English, whereas native speakers have to.