• Native Language:
      • Turkish
      • Home Country:
      • Turkey
      • Current Location:
      • Turkey

UP

''I saw her walking UP the street.''

What do you understand from this sentence above?

1. She is walking towards the end of the street.
    2. She is walking at the end of the street.( I mean, she is hanging around at the end of the street)
    3. Both of them could be correct, there must be a context to understand the situation.

(end of the street is not so much important point here, it is just a referance according to us)

I wish I would tell the problem here...
    Thanks,

• Member Info
      • Native Language:
      • American English
      • Home Country:
      • United States
      • Current Location:
      • United States

Re: UP

Certainly not 2.

I would assume she was walking toward the speaker. (Unless the street is on a hill - then "up" would be "up.")
    I'm not a teacher, but I write for a living. Please don't ask me about 2nd conditionals, but I'm a safe bet for what reads well in (American) English.

• Member Info
      • Native Language:
      • Chinese
      • Home Country:
      • China
      • Current Location:
      • Hong Kong

If it were 'walking down', would it mean 'walking away from the speaker'?
    I have long been confused by 'Pretty woman, walking down the street'.

• Member Info
      • Native Language:
      • American English
      • Home Country:
      • United States
      • Current Location:
      • United States

Honestly, there is no difference in "walking up the street" and "walking down the street" in many, many cases.

I would think "walking up" would mean "walking up towards me" (and this could be a personal opinion not shared by others) but "walking down" could be either direction.

In the song, you could be sitting on a stoop, and she could start away, walk past you, and keep walking, and be "walking down the street."