• Member Info
      • Native Language:
      • English
      • Home Country:
      • Australia
      • Current Location:
      • Australia

How to write a title as it sounds keeping the multiple meaning of a homophone latent

As a visual artist, I often have working titles in my mind that I hear as spoken. I often wish I could write the title and keep the multiple meaning of homophones. Is it possible to write words that sound the same that are spelt differently in such a way that maintains the ambiguity of the audible?

Hope this hasn't been asked before.

I thank you for any help offered.

cheers,

Scott Bennett
    Last edited by ScottWilmot; 28-Jul-2014 at 12:00. Reason: typo

• Member Info
      • Native Language:
      • British English
      • Home Country:
      • UK
      • Current Location:
      • UK

Re: How to write a title as it sounds keeping the multiple meaning of a homophone lat

Do you mean something like calling your medical first aid supplies company "There, they're, their"? I'm not sure I've got the gist of what you're trying to do.
    Remember - if you don't use correct capitalisation, punctuation and spacing, anything you write will be incorrect.

• Member Info
      • Native Language:
      • British English
      • Home Country:
      • UK
      • Current Location:
      • Laos

Re: How to write a title as it sounds keeping the multiple meaning of a homophone lat

Quote Originally Posted by ScottWilmot View Post
    Is it possible to write words that sound the same that are spelt differently in such a way that maintains the ambiguity of the audible?
    In most cases, I would say that this is not possible, except for clumsy methods like here/hear.

• Member Info
      • Native Language:
      • English
      • Home Country:
      • Australia
      • Current Location:
      • Australia

Thank you for your reply.

I'll give an example. A title as It sounds might be "Bell Weather" but I'm interested