[General] How to write a title as it sounds keeping the multiple meaning of a homophone latent

Status
Not open for further replies.

ScottWilmot

Member Type
Other
Native Language
English
Home Country
Australia
Current Location
Australia
As a visual artist, I often have working titles in my mind that I hear as spoken. I often wish I could write the title and keep the multiple meaning of homophones. Is it possible to write words that sound the same that are spelt differently in such a way that maintains the ambiguity of the audible?

Hope this hasn't been asked before.

I thank you for any help offered.

cheers,

Scott Bennett

Last edited:

emsr2d2

Staff member
Member Type
English Teacher
Native Language
British English
Home Country
UK
Current Location
UK
Do you mean something like calling your medical first aid supplies company "There, they're, their"? I'm not sure I've got the gist of what you're trying to do.

Tdol

No Longer With Us (RIP)
Staff member
Native Language
British English
Home Country
UK
Current Location
Japan
Is it possible to write words that sound the same that are spelt differently in such a way that maintains the ambiguity of the audible?

In most cases, I would say that this is not possible, except for clumsy methods like here/hear.

ScottWilmot

Member Type
Other
Native Language
English
Home Country
Australia
Current Location
Australia
Thank you for your reply.

I'll give an example. A title as It sounds might be "Bell Weather" but I'm interested
in multiple meanings, such as bellwether, belle or weather or bell whether.
As a landscape in sheep country, the title verbalised, contains several meanings based on language alone.

A wether (A castrated ram), bellwether (A trend) or the sheep with a bell around its neck leading the flock.
Or beautiful (Belle) weather.

If I spell it a particular way it loses the mystery of the spoken word that contains some ambiguity.