Student or Learner
Native Language
Indonesian
Home Country
Indonesia
Current Location
Indonesia
Hi,
I'm a beginner of English teacher that teach student in private tutorial. One of my students seems really worry to speak English when I want him to respond my question or my statement with English. I have attempted to motivate him to just feel free to speak up, but I still feel that it does not really works. He seems that he is still very worry to speak up even though I have said to him that do a wrongness in using grammatical rule when speaking is normal. Whereas, He can be well-understood what I have explained when I use my English.

Perhaps, you can give me ideas to overcome this problem. What should I do to motivate him in order he want to speak up?

Best regard,
Asita

Tdol

No Longer With Us (RIP)
Staff member
Native Language
British English
Home Country
UK
Current Location
Japan
Non-native speakers are doing the hard work. It's easy for me to speak English - I was born into it. It is a lot harder for those studying. Who cares about whether they're 100% grammatically perfect if you can understand them? A non-native speaker should not feel guilty or worried about speaking - they should focus on being understood.

Last edited by a moderator:

Esredux

VIP Member
Member Type
Other
Native Language
Russian
Home Country
Russian Federation
Current Location
Russian Federation