Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

study vs is studying, hope vs hoping

I've always been thinking that when someone asks me "What do you do ?" I'm supposed to answer : "I study" or "I study journalism" which means that I'm a student of some department. However, quite recenlty,I've heard a native speaker saying "I'm studying journalism" and he was answering the same question - "What do you do"

and the second question : What's the difference between I hope and I'm hoping ?

ps. is it ok to use pres. perf. continuous, jus as I did at the beginning of this post ? is there any other tense which could be used here ?

ps.2 and do we rather say "when someone asks me or is asking" in this context ?

thanks,

• Member Info
      • Native Language:
      • British English
      • Home Country:
      • UK
      • Current Location:
      • Laos

Re: study vs is studying, hope vs hoping

I study/I'm studying - both can be used. The idea behind the progressive form is that it's a temporary thing. If someone says 'I'm working as...', they probably mean that they don't plan to make a career of the job. With studying, it doesn't really make any difference as courses are always temporary. 'I'm hopin g' places more emphasis on the current situation- 'I'm hoping that he'll be there' suggests that there is a real risk he won't be there so I am hoping with extra force.

thanks a lot : - )

and what about the present perfect continuous at the beginning of my previous post ?

and does this rule about "extra emphasis" in "I'm hoping" somehow apply to other continuous forms ? for instance, what's the difference between :

a. How do you feel ? and How are you feeling ?

b. Let's imagine a situation in which two friends were lost in a jungle. One of would say :

What to we do now ? or What are we doing now ? (or maybe What will we do now ?) I guess that the first option and the third one are ok.

best wishes,

ps. can I say that : a rule translates into another rule or example ?