Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    • Member Info
      • Native Language:
      • Chinese
      • Home Country:
      • China
      • Current Location:
      • China

Why don't English words end with the same “suffix” to describe the same kind thing?

Hi there, I'm a native-Chinese. Please excuse me because I have to post some Chinese characters here to illustrate my question. Most web browser software running on Microsoft Windows and Apple Mac/iPad/iPhone/Android/Windows Mobile/Linux/UNIX could display Chinese text correctly, if yours not, please ignore the Chinese part or ignore this thread.

I've been learning English for many years, there is a question puzzles me consistently: Why don't English words end up with the same “suffix” to describe the same kind of thing?Or Why don't English words appear in the same form to describe the same thing?

In Chinese, this problem doesn't exist.

Example Ⅰ:
    When we say the name of the months in a year, in English, we say January/February/March/April.........December. Do you find any similarity in these names? No, at least I don't find any, in my opinion they are just 12 different words which I must memorize. But in Chinese? We say:
    一月(1月)(pronounce “yi yue”, January)
    二月(2月)(pronounce “er yue”, February)
    三月(3月)(pronounce “san yue”, March)
    四月(4月)(pronounce “si yue”, April)
    五月(5月)(pronounce “wu yue”, May)
    六月(6月)(pronounce “liu yue”, June)
    七月(7月)(pronounce “qi yue”, July)
    八月(8月)(pronounce “ba yue”, August)
    九月(9月)(pronounce “jiu yue”, September)
    十月(10月)(pronounce “shi yue”, October)
    十一月(11月)(pronounce “shi yi yue”, November)
    十二月(12月)(pronounce “shi er yue”, December)

Do you find any similarity in these Chinese names? I believe a five-year-old kid could find the similarity, because all of them are numbers, mathematical numbers. And most importantly, all of them are ended up with “月”(pronounce “yue”) which means “moon; month” in Chinese.