Should I do an MA-TESOL or TESOL certificate as a complete beginner?

Status
Not open for further replies.

djengle91

Member Type
Interested in Language
Native Language
American English
Home Country
United States
Current Location
United States
Should I do an MA-TESOL or TESOL certificate as a complete beginner?
First of all, I'm a complete beginner, with no experience. I want to get into TESOL though soon. I'm currently an anthropology major (so my experience with linguistics is primarily through linguistic anthropology), and will be graduating this May. I am confined to Champaign, IL for the next 2 years though because of personal and financial reasons.

Anyways, I've been looking into a few programs and trying to see if a MA or certificate is better for me. An MA seems to give much greater opportunities, but also seems aimed towards people with experience (though they claim to accept people with no experience). For the MA, I've been looking at Mizzou and Arizona State's online programs, which both include a practicum. Mizzou is cheaper, but ASU seems more reputable For the certificate, I've been looking at Mizzou and University of Illinois' programs. Once again, Mizzou is the cheaper option and actually has a practicum with more hours. UIUC though is much more reputable, but is more expensive and has less practicum hours (which are included in individual classes rather than a separate practicum).

Basically, I'm just wondering what is better for me out of the 4 options, or if there are other options I should consider. However, I will not be able to go beyond $16,000, and cannot go elsewhere at the moment. So it would have to be something online or local. Thanks.

Tdol

No Longer With Us (RIP)
Staff member
Native Language
British English
Home Country
UK
Current Location
Japan