• Native Language:
      • Korean
      • Home Country:
      • South Korea
      • Current Location:
      • Canada

Meaning of a word "can"

Hello,
    I am studying Christian Theology and I have a quick question. Please consider the following statement:
    "three o' clock is the hour of mercy. during this hour I will refuse nothing to a soul that makes arequest of me.in this hour you can obtain everything for yourself and for the others for asking"

now how should I take the meaning of the word "can" in the context of above statement? "Can" can have two meaning:

1. To be able to
    2. Expression of possibility (e.g. A coin can land on its back side)

which meaning do you think is appropriate in the given context? Thank you,

• Member Info
      • Native Language:
      • English
      • Home Country:
      • Australia
      • Current Location:
      • Australia

Re: Meaning of a word "can"

Hi dominique,
    That's a strange quote. Is it really from Christian Theology?
    'Can' here seems to mean 'will'. If nothing is refused at 3 o'clock (the strangeness I refer to), then you will obtain what you ask for.
    Jesus actually didn't make appointment hours though. He just said, "Ask, believing, and it will be given [to] you" (paraphrase). I'm not sure who he was referring to (obviously someone else.)

PS: You need to start all your sentences with capital letters.

• Member Info
      • Native Language:
      • Korean
      • Home Country:
      • South Korea
      • Current Location:
      • Canada

Quote Originally Posted by Raymott View Post
    Hi dominique,
    'Can' here seems to mean 'will'. If nothing is refused at 3 o'clock (the strangeness I refer to), then you will obtain what you ask for.
    Jesus actually didn't make appointment hours though. He just said, "Ask, believing, and it will be given [to] you" (paraphrase). I'm not sure who he was referring to (obviously someone else.)

Hello,