• Member Info
      • Native Language:
      • American English
      • Home Country:
      • United States
      • Current Location:
      • United States

philosophy

help with philosophy!please-desperate...single widowed mom just trying to do good in school. I've never done anythng like this before but I'm honestly helpless right now- i don't know what to do,where to start, or understand.....

plato-

Imagine someone named antiplato says:
    "the number one does not exist because I've never seen it. After 1,1000 experiments, I have yet to observe the number one. At best, the number one is a conceptual invention, but concepts don't really exist like, for instance, this piece of paper does"

Drawing primarily on specific passages from euthyphro , apology, phaedo and republic, answer the following ques:
    A. how would plato reply to antiplato? would plato view antiplatos argument as valid and sound?
    b. what are plato forms, and what role would they play in his response to antiplato?
    c. would you be inclined to agree with plato or antiplato on this topic? why?
    Last edited by lindsayliamkyle5187; 27-Mar-2015 at 03:50.

• Member Info
      • Native Language:
      • English
      • Home Country:
      • Australia
      • Current Location:
      • Australia

Re: philosophy

We can't help you with this, sorry. We don't do homework here. Even if we did, no one is going to summarise Euthyphro , Apology, Phaedo and Republic for you.
    That's a very difficult assignment you have. You're supposed to work out what Plato thinks about the reality of mental concepts. Is it too late for you to withdraw from that subject? In any case, that's Philosophy, not English.

• Member Info
      • Native Language:
      • British English
      • Home Country:
      • UK
      • Current Location:
      • UK

Re: philosophy

Quote Originally Posted by lindsayliamkyle5187 View Post