Hello :)

I am applying for a Master's degree in Economics and International Trade at a Chinese university (with scholarship), could you please tell me what you think about my personal statement, and help me correct my mistakes ? I would be very happy if you could give me some advice to improve it!

Thank you very much in advance

My name is Kanagat ***, I was born in 1992 in Turkmenistan and raised in Kazakhstan, countries both located on the world-famous Silk Road, formed by several routes of trade and cultural exchanges that linked the major civilizations of Asia, Europe and Africa.

As the eldest child of a retail-trader, I have always been fascinated by my fatherís business. During summers, I would always be around at his shop, greet customers, and do my best to help my father run the family business. After I graduated from secondary school, I was told about the opportunity of studying in China. The idea of becoming an overseas student was a complete challenge to me, as I did not speak a word of Chinese, and my English was pretty basic at that time. I knew about some friends' relatives who imported products from China and I was dreaming of giving my fatherís small business an international dimension, that's why I decided I had to learn Chinese. After a year of studying elementary Chinese at Xinjiang Agricultural Vocational Technical College in Changji, I chose Shandong University - near Confuciusí native place - to improve my language level before enrolling in the International Trade and Economics Bachelorís degree program.