• Native Language:
      • Portuguese
      • Home Country:
      • Brazil
      • Current Location:
      • Brazil

• Post Thanks / Like

Is my learning plan correct?

Hi! I've been learning English for almost two years, and now I've become an advanced learner/speaker of the language. Since I want to keep improving my language skills, as well as avoiding forgetting everything I have learned and achieved in the language, I am working hard on my listening and speaking skills. Even though my pronunciation is currently good, I am struggling with my speaking skills, because I had the bad habit of not looking for the correct pronunciation of new words and just pronouncing them the way I thought they sounded like. So, it's being quite a tough task to forget the incorrect pronunciations of a few words, and permanently memorizing and replacing them with the correct pronunciations. In any case, I spend at least two hours every day (except during weekends) listening and speaking English, but there have always been some problems that occur when I am practicing my speaking skills which seem to drive me crazy. For instance, I often mispronounce words while reading texts aloud, despite knowing their correct pronunciations. In other words, sometimes I just can't get rid of my accent! I wish to sound more like a native, and my accent is a concept which I really wish to change. Today, I just couldn't feel up to practicing my speaking as I am used to doing, in a more comfortable and relaxed manner - it sounded like my concentration was poor. Last Tuesday and Wednesday, I did not encounter any difficulties reading texts aloud both on the computer and in books when practicing my speaking skills, and I guess this occurred because I wasn't feeling well at all when I was reading such texts.