[General] Questions about how to pronounce TH-sounds in the middle of a sentence

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lucas Thörning

Member Type
Student or Learner
Native Language
Swedish
Home Country
Sweden
Current Location
Sweden
Hello everyone, Lucas here!

I'm a guy from Sweden that just loves speaking English. I've been doing it for a few years now, and I try my very best to become more and more fluent. It terms of vocalbulary and accent I honestly think I'm doing pretty good, but when it comes to pronunciation I sometimes fall off a bit. I have, as many before, found out that I kinda struggle with the TH-sound. See, I don't have any troubles placing my tongue between my teeth to make the TH-sound, but when I'm in a stressed situation or when I'm in the middle of a sentence, I tend to either pronounce the TH-sound very weird, or I tend to completely forget about the rules and pronounce it as an F-sound.

For example. I have no troubles pronouncing these sentences correctly
"This is why you should do it"
"Why would you do this?"
"That is amazing"
"Three dogs went through"

You see, either there is a gap between the TH-sounds, or it is located in the beginning of a sentence.

I do, however, have troubles pronouncing sentences like these:
"Then that is what you should do"
"Take that death!"
"He threw three balls there"

When the TH-sounds are in the middle of a sentence or if they are very close.
If they are very close my tongue seem to slip. I lose control of it unless I focus A LOT on not losing control of it.
In the middle of a sentence I find it hard to place the tongue correctly, mainly because you speak faster then.

It's a lot of things going through my mind when I speak English. First off I have to focus on the grammar, the words and the pronunciation.