• Native Language:
      • Turkish
      • Home Country:
      • Turkey
      • Current Location:
      • Turkey

George Farquhar The Beaux Stratagem

Hi;

Again, I'm translating The Beaux Stratagem from Farquhar. It's written in an old English. Sometimes I have difficulty about translating this play. So, I want to ask you, what is "my valour is downright Swiss."

This is the some part of th conversation has it:

"And if you go to that, how can you, after what is passed, have the confidence to deny me? Was not this blood shed in your defence, and my life exposed for your protection? Look 'ee, madam, I 'm none of your romantic fools, that fight giants and monsters for nothing; my valour is downright Swiss; I'm a soldier of fortune, and must be paid."
    Last edited by emsr2d2; 12-Jul-2015 at 10:08. Reason: Removed unnecessary line breaks

• Member Info
      • Native Language:
      • British English
      • Home Country:
      • UK
      • Current Location:
      • UK

Re: George Farquhar The Beaux Stratagem

It seems to me that the speaker associates a particular kind of bravery (valour) with the Swiss and he is saying that his bravery is of that type. I'm not aware of any particular type of bravery associated with the Swiss these days but maybe things were different in the 18th century.

Note that you have missed the apostrophe from the title. It's "The Beaux' Stratagem".
    Remember - if you don't use correct capitalisation, punctuation and spacing, anything you write will be incorrect.

• Member Info
      • Native Language:
      • British English
      • Home Country:
      • Great Britain
      • Current Location:
      • Great Britain

Not A Teacher

I think the writer is referring to the long history of Swiss soldiers acting as mercenaries through long periods of European history. Their soldiers fought for many nations including France, Spain and Britain, provided their fees were paid.
    More on this subject apcan be found on this Wikipedia link.