how to learn two foreign languages at the same time?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Boris Tatarenko

Member Type
Student or Learner
Native Language
Russian
Home Country
Russian Federation
Current Location
Russian Federation
Hello.

I'm studying international relations and political science at Moscow State Institute of International Relations (University) of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the Russian Federation. Due to the fact I focuse on the Unites States of America and Europe in my studies, I'm learning English and German. However, some time ago I realised that it is quite difficult and daunting to learn two foreign languages at the same time.

I struggle to find enough time to cover all my learning subjects properly, including the aforementioned languages. However, I simply cannot memorize German words becuase of unknown reasons. Even if I memorize some words with the context they are used in, there is a high chance I will forget them in several hours. Unfortunately, the same story happens to my English. I am not advnaced at the English language but it is a level which I am heading for. In spite of trying my best to acquire a good command of English, I have not noticed any results lately. When I started learning English three years ago, I could see great results because I spent enormous amount of time on learning. Although I am trying to spend as much time as I used to, there are no such results. It looks like I have faced a stagnation point recently. In my humble opinion, it happened because I started learning German (according to the rules of my Universtity, it is mandatory to learn more than one foreign language). I am neither smarter or stupider than other people who learn foreign languages. Therefore the problem lies somewhere in my way of learning, I guess.

(Finally, I'm coming to the point here
:-D)