Teaching in Spain - Complete Beginner...

Status
Not open for further replies.

johnstar

Member Type
Other
Native Language
British English
Home Country
UK
Current Location
UK
Hello everyone,

I am a British native who is going to live in northern Spain from 26th October this year and to begin the adventure i will start teaching English in one on one classes with a combination of young children of 5-6 years old, some 11 and 12 year old students and also a few adults too.

Because of the vast difference in ages, abilities and experiences, i have already bought some textbooks and grammar workbooks which will cover early learning/beginner and intermediate levels of english, which i believe will help them to improve their knowledge of the different tenses and build confidence.

My doubts lie in the methods/philosophies that i should use to teach the students in the most effective and interesting way without overwhelming them with information. I am totally new to teaching and although the lessons will be one on one as opposed to a big classroom environment, i want to appear professional and well prepared with every student with the intention of joining an academy or school after settling into the Spanish lifestyle.

I would like to buy the right material such as books, flashcards etc to be able to incorporate different techniques and develop my own teaching style to suit the individuals needs.

If anyone can offer any suggestions or advice as to the best way to begin imparting classes, which books to read to gain a real insight into teaching and ultimately the formulas that have worked to ensure success long term, then i would really appreciate the feedback.

Thanks for reading

Regards

John

emsr2d2

Staff member
Member Type
English Teacher
Native Language
British English
Home Country
UK
Current Location
UK
Welcome to the forum. :hi: