Member Type
Student or Learner
Native Language
Polish
Home Country
Poland
Current Location
UK
Please check my grievance letter to Warehouse Manager. Thank you for any help.

To TW

I am writing to express my displeasure and bitterness with your decision to change my shift pattern.

As you are probably aware, my main and primary role at the moment is quality checking. I have been working in this role for more than six months now, succeeding JG who had been working as a checker for more than a year. Because of the nature of this role, a shift pattern of a quality checker has always been fixed days in a weak, Sunday to Thursday. The reason for this is that there are no restaurant orders that need to be checked on Saturday. It seems reasonable and logical therefore that a quality checker have this day off in a work pattern as there is not much work to do.

I would like to allow myself to challenge your opinion which you stated in an email to night shift manager JH, saying that I should not stay on a fixed pattern nor be the only person able to do the checking, that there need to be more workers trained to perform the role of checking, taking into consideration a case of absence or 'long term sickness'. You may have not been informed that there are currently at least three operatives (PM, GD and SR), who have been trained to do the checking and who have effectively substituted me in this role on many occasions, usually on Friday or when I was on holiday. The only significant difference between me and them that is worth mentioning, is that I am a person who can log on to computer systems used in our workplace to obtain all the necessary paperwork for checking, and do not have to depend on admin clerks for assistance.

In your response to JH you also stated that it would be unfair that I