Results 1 to 2 of 2
    • Member Info
      • Native Language:
      • Chinese
      • Home Country:
      • Taiwan
      • Current Location:
      • Taiwan

    • Join Date: Dec 2006
    • Posts: 1,518
    • Post Thanks / Like

    comma, if clause

    Sight reading Latin and Greek is a pleasurable activity, if you learn how to do it.
    I was taught that people don't use a comma when if-clause is placed after the main clause. How come the above sentence uses a comma?
    I need native speakers' help.

    • Member Info
      • Native Language:
      • English
      • Home Country:
      • England
      • Current Location:
      • England

    • Join Date: Jun 2010
    • Posts: 21,168
    • Post Thanks / Like

    Re: comma, if clause

    It's optional. In this case, the writer wanted to take a pause after 'activity'.

Similar Threads

  1. Non-defining relative clause, comma
    By sitifan in forum Ask a Teacher
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 18-Jul-2015, 08:40
  2. Replies: 5
    Last Post: 15-Jun-2015, 00:16
  3. Can an independent clause and a dependent clause be connected with a comma?
    By Niranjan Krishnamoorthi in forum Ask a Teacher
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 02-Nov-2014, 21:12
  4. [Grammar] How would I know if the relative clause needs a comma or not.
    By saloom2 in forum Ask a Teacher
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 19-Apr-2013, 17:56
  5. comma in the adjective clause
    By WUKEN in forum Ask a Teacher
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 05-Jul-2009, 18:32


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts