Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. Just Joined
    Interested in Language
    • Member Info
      • Native Language:
      • Spanish
      • Home Country:
      • Ecuador
      • Current Location:
      • United States

    • Join Date: Feb 2013
    • Posts: 1
    #1

    Cool What would I have done...?

    Is this sentence correct? What would I have done, if I would have been on my father shoes?

  2. Piscean's Avatar
    • Member Info
      • Native Language:
      • British English
      • Home Country:
      • Czech Republic
      • Current Location:
      • Czech Republic

    • Join Date: Jul 2015
    • Posts: 10,008
    #2

    Re: correction

    No.

    What would I have done if I had been in my father's shoes?

    • Member Info
      • Native Language:
      • English
      • Home Country:
      • England
      • Current Location:
      • England

    • Join Date: Jun 2010
    • Posts: 24,501
    #3

    Re: What would I have done...?

    Welcome to the forum, SEBITOS.

    I have changed your thread title.

    Extract from the Posting Guidelines:

    'Thread titles should include all or part of the word/phrase being discussed.'



  3. kilroy65's Avatar
    • Member Info
      • Native Language:
      • Bulgarian
      • Home Country:
      • Bulgaria
      • Current Location:
      • Bulgaria

    • Join Date: Jan 2016
    • Posts: 179
    #4

    Re: What would I have done...?

    SEBITOS, your sentence is an example of what is often called the "Third Conditional", an imaginary/ hypothetical situation in the past. The condition is therefore impossible to happen.

    1. If I had studied harder, I would have passed my exams.
    2. I would have passed my exams if I had studied harder.

    Both sentences mean that I didn't study hard enough and I didn't pass my exams.

    We use the past perfect in the "if" clause and would/ could/ might+ have+ past participle in the main clause.

    When we start the sentence with the "If" clause, we use a comma between the two clauses (the first sentence). When we start it with the main clause, we do not put a comma before "if" (the second sentence).
    Last edited by kilroy65; 26-Jan-2016 at 14:49. Reason: Capitalization

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •