Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. Newbie
    Student or Learner
    • Member Info
      • Native Language:
      • English
      • Home Country:
      • United States
      • Current Location:
      • United States

    • Join Date: Mar 2016
    • Posts: 2
    #1

    presume to educate

    I am wondering if this sentence is grammatically correct.

    I would never presume to educate you, my friend.

  2. Barb_D's Avatar
    • Member Info
      • Native Language:
      • American English
      • Home Country:
      • United States
      • Current Location:
      • United States

    • Join Date: Mar 2007
    • Posts: 19,221
    #2

    Re: presume to educate

    Welcome to the forums.

    I have edited your thread title. "Please help" is not a useful title. Use a phrase from your question as your thread title so you can find it later. (In another forum, a user has posted probably 50 threads all with the title "Proofreading?" I don't know how he finds them again.)

    Your sentence is okay as written.
    I'm not a teacher, but I write for a living. Please don't ask me about 2nd conditionals, but I'm a safe bet for what reads well in (American) English.

  3. Newbie
    Student or Learner
    • Member Info
      • Native Language:
      • English
      • Home Country:
      • United States
      • Current Location:
      • United States

    • Join Date: Mar 2016
    • Posts: 2
    #3

    Re: presume to educate

    I appreciate you response. It just seems like "presume" is not used correctly.

  4. Piscean's Avatar
    • Member Info
      • Native Language:
      • British English
      • Home Country:
      • Czech Republic
      • Current Location:
      • Czech Republic

    • Join Date: Jul 2015
    • Posts: 10,010
    #4

    Re: presume to educate

    It is.

  5. Barb_D's Avatar
    • Member Info
      • Native Language:
      • American English
      • Home Country:
      • United States
      • Current Location:
      • United States

    • Join Date: Mar 2007
    • Posts: 19,221
    #5

    Re: presume to educate

    Think of it as meaning "I would never think it was okay for me to do this."
    In this context.
    I'm not a teacher, but I write for a living. Please don't ask me about 2nd conditionals, but I'm a safe bet for what reads well in (American) English.

    • Member Info
      • Native Language:
      • British English
      • Home Country:
      • UK
      • Current Location:
      • Laos

    • Join Date: Nov 2002
    • Posts: 57,903
    #6

    Re: presume to educate

    Quote Originally Posted by njphil3 View Post
    I just don't see how "presume" is used correctly
    Have a look at the second definition of the verb here: http://www.oxforddictionaries.com/us...nglish/presume

Similar Threads

  1. [Vocabulary] Word Pattern for Educate - educate people to do something?
    By englishteacher79 in forum Ask a Teacher
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 28-Sep-2015, 10:10
  2. Please educate me...P
    By Kristine May in forum Ask a Teacher
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 02-Mar-2011, 14:56
  3. [Grammar] Could someone educate me
    By abhi11 in forum Ask a Teacher
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 09-Jul-2010, 08:46
  4. presume etc.
    By jiang in forum Ask a Teacher
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 31-Mar-2007, 00:49

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •