• Member Info
      • Native Language:
      • Croatian
      • Home Country:
      • Croatia
      • Current Location:
      • Croatia

Time adverbials - word order

Hello, I have a question concerning the position of time adverbials in sentences like these:

1. a) I was hoping that you would have already passed all the exams by the end of this month.
    b) I was hoping that you would already have passed all the exams by the end of this month.

2. a) I would have never thought you were capable of doing that.
    b) I would never have thought you were capable of doing that.

3. a) I would have never guessed...
    b) I would never have guessed...

etc.
    My professor at the college says that only b) is correct in "proper" English (i.e., only b) would be accepted in the exams). I think that b) is more formal and BE, while a) would be preferred in spoken language and in the AmE. Am I right? Would you correct someone if they used a) ?
    Dear folks, I am an ESL student so don't ever hesitate to correct me, even the slightest details!

• Member Info
      • Native Language:
      • British English
      • Home Country:
      • Czech Republic
      • Current Location:
      • Czech Republic

Re: Time adverbials - word order

I would normally write the (b) version, but I think that the (a) version is possible is some contexts. The (a) version is more likely in speech than writing; word stress is fairly important.

I am sure that the(a) version would not be penalised in any of the main Britsh examinations. However, learners should be aware that the (b) version is nearly always the natural choice for native speakers.

• Member Info
      • Native Language:
      • American English
      • Home Country:
      • United States
      • Current Location:
      • United States

I (an AmE speaker) prefer the (b) sentences, though the (a) sentences are not bad. Another option for the second group is I never would have thought....
    I am not a teacher.

• Member Info