Student or Learner
Native Language
Persian
Home Country
Iran
Current Location
Iran
Hello,

Now we are in 2016. Let's suppose that I taught English to some students from 2005 to 2008 (three years) and now in 2016 I'm not teaching. According to this context, I want to say that I have three year experience of English teaching but I am not sure which of the below sentences is ok:

1. I have been teaching English for three years.:-?
2. I have taught English for three years.:-?
3. I taught English for three years.:-?

Now I am confused. Could you please tell me what is the difference between 1 and 2 and 3? Which sentence is good for my context?

Thank you.

charliedeut

VIP Member
Member Type
Interested in Language
Native Language
Spanish
Home Country
Spain
Current Location
Spain
#1 means you are teaching English now, and have done so for the last three years (this one included).
#2 means you taught for three years until the end of this one (that is, the school year has just finished).
#3 is the one you are looking for. It says that you had the experience in the (not necessarily near) past.

Hope it helps.

GoesStation

No Longer With Us (RIP)
Member Type
Interested in Language
Native Language
American English
Home Country
United States
Current Location
United States
Write I have three years' experience. It's possessive because it could be written the experience of three years, though we wouldn't really write that.

jutfrank

VIP Member
Member Type
English Teacher
Native Language
English
Home Country
England
Current Location
England
2) is better than 3)

Present tense is better when you want to say what experience you have. It doesn't matter when the teaching ended.

Charlie Bernstein

VIP Member
Member Type
Other
Native Language
English
Home Country
United States
Current Location
United States
2) is better than 3)

Present tense is better when you want to say what experience you have. It doesn't matter when the teaching ended.