Student or Learner
Native Language
Polish
Home Country
Poland
Current Location
Poland
Hello!

I am Błażej and I come from Poland. I am seventeen years old. I have been learning English for nearly ten years.

I would like to ask you to grade my accent - please. My teacher says that she is impressed by my British way of pronunciation. However, I would like to get an opinion from other people (preferably native speakers). I would appreciate any constructive criticism of my accent. What should I improve?

I attach a link to a sample of me reading Tolkien's "Hobbit":
https://youtu.be/VohUOqFIzMM

Kind regards

Charlie Bernstein

VIP Member
Member Type
Other
Native Language
English
Home Country
United States
Current Location
United States
Hello!

I am Błażej and I come from Poland. I am seventeen years old. I have been learning English for nearly ten years.

I would like to ask you to grade my accent - please. My teacher says that she is impressed by my British way of pronunciation. However, I would like to get an opinion from other people (preferably native speakers). I would appreciate any constructive criticism of my accent. What should I improve?

I attach a link to a sample of me reading Tolkien's "Hobbit":
https://youtu.be/VohUOqFIzMM

Kind regards

I give you a B+. You have a good feel for the rhythm and "roundness" of British English. Some of your pronunciations are slightly off - the R in "for," the I in "like," for example - but overall, you've done very well for just ten years of study.

No one would mistake you for American, Irish, Scottish, South African, or Australian!

rudy29

Member Type
Student or Learner
Native Language
Polish
Home Country
Poland
Current Location
Poland
I give you a B+. You have a good feel for the rhythm and "roundness" of British English. Some of your pronunciations are slightly off - the R in "for," the I in "like," for example - but overall, you've done very well for just ten years of study.