[Essay] Please check my GRE Argument Task (International Student)

Status
Not open for further replies.

ielts-student

Member Type
Student or Learner
Native Language
German
Home Country
Germany
Current Location
Germany
Dear friends of UsingEnglish,

I am an international student and I am preparing for taking the GRE Exam this month.
- If possible, I would like to ask you to evaluate my argument task (written in 30min).

Thank you so much in advance :)

----------------------------------------------

The following argument was made in a newspaper editorial:“The autonomy of any country is based on the strength of its borders; if the number of illegal immigrants entering a country cannot be checked, both its economy and national identity are endangered. Because illegal immigrants pose such threats, every effort must be made to return them to their country of origin.”

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The provided argument contains flaws mainly in terms of how it propose the risks by allowing illegal immigrants in a certain country. We evaluate negatively the argument by posing the lack of defined terms, the role of illegal immigrants in some countries and how the own history has shown it differently.

Firstly, one can notice the author does not provide a clear description of how the national identity and the economy will be endangered with the entrance of illegal immigrants. This is a vague argument in which one measurable can not be found for indicating with data its validity.
In other words, what will be in danger with the entrance of illegal immigrants? The language, the culture or jobs of the indigenous people?