Standardized Testing and ELLs (In need of professional advice)

Status
Not open for further replies.

rlallen3

Member Type
Teacher (Other)
Native Language
English
Home Country
United States
Current Location
United States
Dear educators,

I am a fourth grade teacher at a title 1 school in Fort Wayne, IN. I am currently working toward my Master's degree in English Language Learning and Teaching. As a part of my assignment in my Assessing ELLs course, I am required to initiate a discussion about a common issue with assessing ELLs.

I would like to address the issue of standardized testing for language learners and am seeking professional advice. Many of my co-workers are against high stakes testing and I too, find it extremely detrimental to all learners, especially ELLs. This is only my third year of teaching and first year working with ELLs in a general education setting. However in one short year, I understand how extremely challenging it is to meet the needs of ELLs and it is evident that alternate forms of assessments must be used to show reliable and valid results. I have been learning a lot about the deeper issues with standardized testing and the benefits of authentic assessments in my recent course.

I would like to receive input on the following questions:

1. As an educator, what is your stance on standardized testing for ELLs?
2. What pros have you noted for standardized testing if any?
3. What are some major cons to standardized testing that you have experienced first hand in your classroom?
4. What forms of assessment have you or your colleagues used to more efficiently evaluate ELLs?
5. How do you ensure that you are meeting the needs of your language learners?

Any advice is extremely appreciated! I am eager to learn from your experiences.

Best regards,

Rachel Allen

lmebbens

Member Type
Teacher (Other)
Native Language
American English
Home Country
United States
Current Location
United States
Rachel,