• Home Country:
      • India
      • Current Location:
      • India

Simple sentence vs. Complex Sentence

Hi

1. 'I got good marks because I had studied well.' - Complex Sentence

2. 'Having studied well, I got good marks.' - Simple Sentence

Though both are correct and convey the same meaning, which is more idiomatic for a native speaker?

Thanks.

• Member Info
      • Native Language:
      • British English
      • Home Country:
      • UK
      • Current Location:
      • UK

Re: Simple sentence vs. Complex Sentence

The first is more natural though I would say "I got good marks because I studied hard".
    Remember - if you don't use correct capitalisation, punctuation and spacing, anything you write will be incorrect.

• Member Info
      • Native Language:
      • American English
      • Home Country:
      • United States
      • Current Location:
      • United States

My understanding is that the first is a compound sentence and the second is a complex sentence. Neither is a simple sentence.
    I'm not a teacher, but I write for a living. Please don't ask me about 2nd conditionals, but I'm a safe bet for what reads well in (American) English.

• Member Info
      • Native Language:
      • Tamil
      • Home Country:
      • India
      • Current Location:
      • India

Quote Originally Posted by Barb_D View Post
    My understanding is that the first is a compound sentence and the second is a complex sentence. Neither is a simple sentence.
    My classification of the above sentences is actually correct. You can kindly check on it with a grammarian.

• Member Info
      • Native Language:
      • English
      • Home Country:
      • Great Britain
      • Current Location:
      • Great Britain

Both your examples are 'complex sentences' since they both contain an independent clause and a dependent one.

• Member Info
      • Native Language:
      • British English
      • Home Country:
      • Czech Republic
      • Current Location: