Member Type
Student or Learner
Native Language
English
Home Country
United States
Current Location
United States
Hello all, I'm new to the forum so i'm not sure if you can help me. Throughout my life (I'm 19) I've heard the word "decent" being used the same way as "not bad", and while it wasn't negative per se, it was never a compliment. Recently, however, i've been seeing the word being used (in what I believe is a form of slang) interchangeably with "good" and "nice". For example, I am a hip-hop producer. Just recently, uploaded one of my beats online, and I received a comment from someone saying "Damn, those drums are decentttt". I was confused, because it sounded like he was praising them, but he was using the word decent. All I want know: Is the word decent used differently in slang? Or is this nonsense?

emsr2d2

Staff member
Member Type
English Teacher
Native Language
British English
Home Country
UK
Current Location
UK
Welcome to the forum. :hi:

According to The Urban Dictionary (my first port of call for slang terms), it means "good". See HERE.

(Please remember to capitalise "I" for the first person singular each time you write it. You used a lower case "i" twice in your post. Remember that, as a native English speaker, learners on this site will assume everything you write is correct.)

Tdol

No Longer With Us (RIP)
Staff member
Native Language
British English
Home Country
UK
Current Location
Japan
Slang often uses words to mean the opposite of the dictionary definition (bad & wicked) or changes the emphasis of a word, so a word that denotes the middle could take on an extreme meaning, which is the case here.

ChinaDan

Member Type
English Teacher
Native Language
American English
Home Country
United States
Current Location
China
To be clear, you are correct in your belief about "decent". It means good, adequate, passable, ok, not bad...