Native Language
Italian
Home Country
Italy
Current Location
Italy
English teacher

Hi everybody.

I’m not new to this forum, so you probably know that I’m a teacher who has an intense passion for literature (in other words, I’m a bookworm). I’ve been working for a long time towards an ambitious goal, that is to bring that spark into my classrooms full of middle schoolers. I have been teaching middle school kids for quite some time and I can assure you that they love literature. I’ve already done Steinbeck’s “Of Mice and Men”, Dickens’s “Oliver Twist”, “Beowulf”, Wilde’s short stories, Langston Hughes’s poems, war poems and so on.
In the coming months, I want to do Emily Brontë’s “Wuthering Heights”: (1) the plot in detail (very easy language and structures); (2) viewing of the film; (3) activities on plot, characters, etc. I’d also like to give them (they are 13 years old) a simplified version ofone of the most dramatic moments in the novel when Catherine confesses her love for Heathcliff (from Chapter 9). Could you please have a look at it?

The Background. The following passage is from Chapter 9. Cathy goes into the kitchen at Wuthering Heights because she wants to talk to Nelly, the housekeeper and narrator of the story. The two women do not know that Heathcliff is sitting on a bench in a dark corner of the room and can hear their words.

One day, Cathy came into the kitchen to talk to me.

Nelly, are you alone?” she whispered.
Yes, Miss, I’m alone, the master’s in his room with a bottle and Heathcliff’s out.”
She sat beside me, and I saw tears in her eyes.
“I’m so unhappy, Nelly. I need your advice. Edgar Linton asked me to marry him today and I said yes!
Oh, Nelly, do you think I did the right thing?”

“Do you love him?” I asked.

“Of course I do,” she replied.

“Why do you love him?”

“Well, because he’s very good-looking and pleasant. Because he is young and cheerful. And he loves me.
And he is rich, and I want to be rich and a great lady!”