Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. Junior Member
    Student or Learner
    • Member Info
      • Native Language:
      • German
      • Home Country:
      • Germany
      • Current Location:
      • Germany

    • Join Date: Jan 2017
    • Posts: 65
    #1

    had to be = had got to be ?

    Do both sentences have the same tense? Are both sentences correct?
    The battery had to be recharged. = The battery had got to be recharged. ?

    And how about the same with "must":
    The battery must to be recharged.
    Same tense as above?

    Thanks for your help.
    Last edited by novar; 23-Jan-2017 at 11:38.

  2. emsr2d2's Avatar
    Moderator
    English Teacher
    • Member Info
      • Native Language:
      • British English
      • Home Country:
      • UK
      • Current Location:
      • UK

    • Join Date: Jul 2009
    • Posts: 47,410
    #2

    Re: had to be = had got to be ?

    Quote Originally Posted by novar View Post
    Do both sentences have the same tense? Are both sentences correct?
    The battery had to be recharged.
    The battery had got to be recharged. This is ungrammatical.

    And how about the same sentence with "must"?
    The battery must to be recharged. This is ungrammatical. Don't use "to" after "must".
    Is it in the same tense as above the other two?

    Thanks for your help.
    See above.

    The battery had to be recharged. (Simple past of "have to")
    The battery must be recharged. (Simple present)
    Remember - if you don't use correct capitalisation, punctuation and spacing, anything you write will be incorrect.

  3. Moderator
    Retired English Teacher
    • Member Info
      • Native Language:
      • English
      • Home Country:
      • England
      • Current Location:
      • England

    • Join Date: Jun 2010
    • Posts: 26,706
    #3

    Re: had to be = had got to be ?

    sca1een, please read this extract from the forum's Posting Guidelines:


    You are welcome to answer questions posted in the Ask a Teacher forum as long as your suggestions, help, and advice reflect a good understanding of the English language. If you are not a teacher, you will need to state that clearly in your post. Please note, all posts are moderated by our in-house language experts, so make sure your suggestions, help, and advice provide the kind of information an international language teacher would offer. If not, and your posts do not contribute to the topic in a positive way, they will be subject to deletion.

  4. Junior Member
    Student or Learner
    • Member Info
      • Native Language:
      • German
      • Home Country:
      • Germany
      • Current Location:
      • Germany

    • Join Date: Jan 2017
    • Posts: 65
    #4

    Re: had to be = had got to be ?

    @emsr2d2

    Thanks to google books I found the following sentences in the English literature, for
    the phrase "had got to be"
    (http://tinyurl.com/gwyqpd6)

    Hits by google-books:
    but it had got to be stopped.
    Somehow it had got to be managed.
    Bank Rate had got to be raised.
    had got to be done
    they had got to be shown round

    Your are telling me that my sentence:

    The battery had got to be recharged.

    is incorrect.

    O.k. But given the google hits I simply don't understand that.
    Why is that?

  5. Editor, UsingEnglish.com
    English Teacher
    • Member Info
      • Native Language:
      • British English
      • Home Country:
      • UK
      • Current Location:
      • Laos

    • Join Date: Nov 2002
    • Posts: 63,719
    #5

    Re: had to be = had got to be ?

    Had got to be is an incomplete search- this could be followed by a number of things.

  6. Junior Member
    Student or Learner
    • Member Info
      • Native Language:
      • German
      • Home Country:
      • Germany
      • Current Location:
      • Germany

    • Join Date: Jan 2017
    • Posts: 65
    #6

    Re: had to be = had got to be ?

    Hi.
    I assume these short sentences are correct:
    Bank Rate had got to be raised.
    It had got to be done.
    It had got to be stopped.

    And if this is the case, I can't understand why:

    "The battery had got to be recharged." is false.

  7. Editor, UsingEnglish.com
    English Teacher
    • Member Info
      • Native Language:
      • British English
      • Home Country:
      • UK
      • Current Location:
      • Laos

    • Join Date: Nov 2002
    • Posts: 63,719
    #7

    Re: had to be = had got to be ?

    It's not grammatically incorrect, but sometimes things boil down to patterns of usage- we say things because all or most of the other speakers in the speech community say something. I don't see any legal or moral obligation to recharge a battery, which is why I wouldn't use it, but others may just see it as sounding wrong, which would make it a case of collocation, which follows no logic other than following the majority. Sometimes the question why doesn't have an answer, but that doesn't necessarily negate things. I say on the left because my speech community does. There is no logical reason why people say in the left doesn't work- it doesn't work because we don't say it. That may not sound like a satisfactory answer to a why question, but it is a real answer in many cases.

  8. emsr2d2's Avatar
    Moderator
    English Teacher
    • Member Info
      • Native Language:
      • British English
      • Home Country:
      • UK
      • Current Location:
      • UK

    • Join Date: Jul 2009
    • Posts: 47,410
    #8

    Re: had to be = had got to be ?

    Put simply, for me, we just don't use "have got to" meaning "must" in any tense except the present tense.

    I have to go to school today.
    I have got to go to school today.

    I had to go to school yesterday.
    I had got to go to school yesterday.

    I have had to go school every day for twelve years.
    I have had got to to school every day for twelve years.


    The battery has to be charged.
    The battery has got to be charged.

    The battery had to be charged.
    The battery had got to be charged.
    Remember - if you don't use correct capitalisation, punctuation and spacing, anything you write will be incorrect.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •