Student or Learner
    • Member Info
      • Native Language:
      • Turkish
      • Home Country:
      • Turkey
      • Current Location:
      • Turkey

I was working in a hotel for two years when i was a student.

Can I use past continuous when I talked about an action that happened in the past in a period time or should I use past perfect continuous and can you tell me if my sentences and explanations are correct?

1) I was working in a hotel for two years when I was a student. ( I worked in the hotel for 2 years and when I was working there I was a student.)

2) I had been working in a hotel for two years when I was a student. ( I started working there in the past and keep working there until I became a student.)
    Last edited by ercantuncer; 23-Mar-2017 at 01:00.

English Teacher
    • Member Info
      • Native Language:
      • British English
      • Home Country:
      • UK
      • Current Location:
      • UK

Re: I was working in a hotel for two years when i was a student.

Before we continue, please click on Edit Post, and capitalise the word "I" each time you have used it, then click Save.
    Remember - if you don't use correct capitalisation, punctuation and spacing, anything you write will be incorrect.

3. Junior Member
    Student or Learner
    • Member Info
      • Native Language:
      • Turkish
      • Home Country:
      • Turkey
      • Current Location:
      • Turkey

Quote Originally Posted by emsr2d2 View Post
    Before we continue, please click on Edit Post, and capitalise the word "I" each time you have used it, then click Save.
    I have edited my post.Can you answer my questions?

English Teacher
    • Member Info
      • Native Language:
      • British English
      • Home Country:
      • UK
      • Current Location:
      • UK

Quote Originally Posted by ercantuncer View Post