Member Type
English Teacher
Native Language
English
Home Country
Japan
Current Location
Japan
I teach English in a small rural town in Japan. My students are - at the highest level - intermediate standard. Now I have a young man who passed the written section of Eiken 1 earlier this year but failed the speaking section. Eiken 1 is an extremely difficult examination and apparently often native English speakers fail. Although I have a Masters in TESOL I am scratching my head at the difficult questions posed in this speaking test. The best help I have received so far has been through a teacher in Japan who also belong to `using English.com` - not sure whether he wants me to name him - but if he reads this - many thanks. Can anyone help me and this young Japanese man - he will be sitting the speaking test in June and will undoubtedly be having sleepless nights. Jack the Geordie in Japan.:cry:

emsr2d2

Staff member
Member Type
English Teacher
Native Language
British English
Home Country
UK
Current Location
UK
Welcome to the forum. :hi:

Can you give us an example of the sort of questions that are causing so many problems, even for native speakers?

Member Type
English Teacher
Native Language
English
Home Country
Japan
Current Location
Japan
Yes - this was submitted by a member of our community. Many thanks to him.

The student has 1 minute to read the question and 2 minutes to make the speech. This is followed by 4 minutes questioning by 2 examiners - one Japanese and the other a native speaker. Just try it yourself and see how difficult it is. Thanks Piscean.

Member Type
English Teacher
Native Language
English
Home Country
Japan
Current Location
Japan
Welcome to the forum. :hi:

Can you give us an example of the sort of questions that are causing so many problems, even for native speakers?

Thank you for the welcome. :-D

Sample:

1.What role should the United Nations play in international politics?

2. Do the rich have a responsibility to help the poor in society?