English Teacher
Native Language
Spanish
Home Country
Spain
Current Location
Spain
Hello!
My name is Silvia and I am an English teacher in Madrid. I work at a language school and I have a class of two adult learners (level B2) who do not want to use any kind of book and want to practise English by just speaking, playing games. They are willing to complete photocopied exercises but they don't like this very much. I only teach them once a week and the length of the class is one and a half hours.
I do not have much teaching experience so I am a bit worried about what to do with them, they want very dynamic classes but I do not know how to make the whole class that active. What kind of activities would you suggest? How would you organise the class? Any advice is very much appreciated.

Last edited by a moderator:

emsr2d2

Staff member
Member Type
English Teacher
Native Language
British English
Home Country
UK
Current Location
UK
Hi Silvia, and welcome to the forum!

I have experience here! I used to teach in Madrid - I taught almost exclusively adults, with no more than two students per lesson, and I only used textbooks with one student. I mainly taught conversational English although, when required, I helped them with speeches, job interview techniques or anything else they wanted.

I can sympathise entirely with your situation. 90 minutes is a long time to keep a lesson going with just conversation.

The trick, I found, was to spend a decent amount of time finding out what they're really interested in. If you can start each lesson on a topic they find interesting and which they really want to talk about, the conversation should start to flow freely. From there, it's relatively easy to go "off topic" and move on to other topics. I certainly recommend going along with at least two or three topics.