Page 1 of 2 1 2 Last
Results 1 to 10 of 18
  1. #1
    tufguy is offline VIP Member
    • Member Info
      • Member Type:
      • Student or Learner
      • Native Language:
      • Hindi
      • Home Country:
      • India
      • Current Location:
      • India
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Posts
    6,273

    Where do you need to change from for other metro.

    We have two different kinds of metros in our city. There is a place (station) where there is a platform which is joined to the metro station through which you can reach the place from where you can take that other metro.

    So can I ask "

    1) Where do you need to change from for other metro?

    2) Which station do I need to get off to take that metro?

    3) Which station can I change the metro from?

  2. #2
    tufguy is offline VIP Member
    • Member Info
      • Member Type:
      • Student or Learner
      • Native Language:
      • Hindi
      • Home Country:
      • India
      • Current Location:
      • India
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Posts
    6,273

    Re: Where do you need to change from for other metro.

    Quote Originally Posted by Piscean View Post
    Do you have two different kinds of metro, or do you have two metro lines which cross/meet at one station?
    Yes, there is this scenario as well. There are different stations where two metro lines meet. But here I am talking about another metro (it goes in circle only in a particular place. It revolves around a particular area only) but yes we can say these two metro lines meet at a station.
    Last edited by tufguy; 18-Oct-2017 at 11:34.

  3. #3
    tufguy is offline VIP Member
    • Member Info
      • Member Type:
      • Student or Learner
      • Native Language:
      • Hindi
      • Home Country:
      • India
      • Current Location:
      • India
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Posts
    6,273

    Re: Where do you need to change from for other metro.

    Quote Originally Posted by Piscean View Post
    Which station do I change for Line A (the purple line/the other line/the Butcherbog) line at?
    Which station do I change for Line A line at?

    Why there are two "line" in this sentence?

  4. #4
    GoesStation is offline Moderator
    • Member Info
      • Member Type:
      • Interested in Language
      • Native Language:
      • American English
      • Home Country:
      • United States
      • Current Location:
      • United States
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Posts
    22,256

    Re: Where do you need to change from for other metro.

    Quote Originally Posted by Piscean View Post
    Which station do I change for Line A (the purple line/the other line/the Butcherbog) line) at?
    Quote Originally Posted by tufguy View Post
    Which station do I change for Line A line at?

    Why there are two does "line" appear twice in this sentence?
    I think Piscean misplaced the closing parenthesis ("bracket" in BrE). See my amendment above.
    I am not a teacher.

  5. #5
    tufguy is offline VIP Member
    • Member Info
      • Member Type:
      • Student or Learner
      • Native Language:
      • Hindi
      • Home Country:
      • India
      • Current Location:
      • India
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Posts
    6,273

    Re: Where do you need to change from for other metro.

    Quote Originally Posted by GoesStation View Post
    I think Piscean misplaced the closing parenthesis ("bracket" in BrE). See my amendment above.
    Can we also say "why did you say 'line' twice while speaking" or "why did you say 'line' twice in your sentence"?

  6. #6
    tufguy is offline VIP Member
    • Member Info
      • Member Type:
      • Student or Learner
      • Native Language:
      • Hindi
      • Home Country:
      • India
      • Current Location:
      • India
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Posts
    6,273

    Re: Where do you need to change from for other metro.

    Quote Originally Posted by GoesStation View Post
    I think Piscean misplaced the closing parenthesis ("bracket" in BrE). See my amendment above.
    1) Which station do I need to change for Texas at?

    2) Which station do I need to change for line B at?

    3) I needed to change at London station for Manhattan.

    4) You need to change at London station for Manhattan.

    5) At a station John to Carter : "You can change here for Texas" or "You can change here for speedy metro."

    Can we also say "Take metro"? "I need to take metro to Texas from Manhattan station"?

    Please check my sentences.
    Last edited by tufguy; 18-Oct-2017 at 16:55.

  7. #7
    GoesStation is offline Moderator
    • Member Info
      • Member Type:
      • Interested in Language
      • Native Language:
      • American English
      • Home Country:
      • United States
      • Current Location:
      • United States
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Posts
    22,256

    Re: Where do you need to change from for other metro.

    Quote Originally Posted by tufguy View Post
    Can we also say "why did you say 'line' twice while speaking" or "why did you say 'line' twice in your sentence"?
    Yes. Well done - you got the nested quotation marks correct.
    I am not a teacher.

  8. #8
    GoesStation is offline Moderator
    • Member Info
      • Member Type:
      • Interested in Language
      • Native Language:
      • American English
      • Home Country:
      • United States
      • Current Location:
      • United States
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Posts
    22,256

    Re: Where do you need to change from for other metro.

    Quote Originally Posted by tufguy View Post
    1) Which station do I need to change for Texas at?

    2) Which station do I need to change for line B at?

    3) I needed to change at London station for Manhattan.

    4) You need to change at London station for Manhattan.

    5) At a station John to Carter : "You can change here for Texas" or "You can change here for speedy metro."

    Can we also say "Take metro"? "I need to take metro to Texas from Manhattan station"?
    1 and 2 are generally considered poor style. You will hear sentences like them, with a preposition stranded at the end, but you shouldn't write them. Since the only place you can change is at a station, you can just ask Where do I change or transfer to line B?

    Geography aside, 3 and 4 are OK.

    You've put two sentences after number 5. Did you run out of numbers? 5a is OK. 5b isn't.

    You can't say take metro. It needs a definite article, and Metro should be capitalized.
    I am not a teacher.

  9. #9
    tufguy is offline VIP Member
    • Member Info
      • Member Type:
      • Student or Learner
      • Native Language:
      • Hindi
      • Home Country:
      • India
      • Current Location:
      • India
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Posts
    6,273

    Re: Where do you need to change from for other metro.

    Quote Originally Posted by GoesStation View Post
    1 and 2 are generally considered poor style. You will hear sentences like them, with a preposition stranded at the end, but you shouldn't write them.
    But Piscean's suggestion cannot be wrong and your's is not wrong as well for sure then why is there a discrepancy between these two statements?

    1) Where do I need to change for Texas?

    2) Which station do I need to change to line B?

    3) Can we also say "Take a Metro"?

    4) I need to take a Metro to Texas from Manhattan station"?

    5) What should be said in place of this
    "You can change here for the speedy Metro"?

  10. #10
    tufguy is offline VIP Member
    • Member Info
      • Member Type:
      • Student or Learner
      • Native Language:
      • Hindi
      • Home Country:
      • India
      • Current Location:
      • India
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Posts
    6,273

    Re: Where do you need to change from for other metro.

    Quote Originally Posted by Piscean View Post
    I don't agree. When I travel in Prague, I take a bus, a tram, a train or the metro. 'Metro' is slightly different from the others in that we generally use a definite article before it, but it's still a common-moun method of transportation.
    1) Where do I need to change for Cannaught place?

    2) Which station do I need to change to line B?

    3) Can we also say "Take the Metro"?

    4) I need to take the Metro to New Friend's colony from Shivalik"?

    5) What should be said in place of this
    "You can change here for the speedy Metro"?


Page 1 of 2 1 2 Last

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •