English Teacher
Native Language
English
Home Country
Australia
Current Location
Colombia
Hi folks,

I am a brand new Celta graduate who has just started teaching a one to one business executive here in Colombia.
I obviously have little experience in activities to fill a 120 min lesson, 3 times per week. One to one business teaching is very different to everything we learned during Celta and I am basically just following the coursebook at the moment and interspersing that with some Kahoot and Quizlet activities but those seem to last a matter of seconds only.

I would really appreciate any advice from experienced teachers who have taught one to one english lessons to executives. In particular, any activities or ideas that I can tailor to the course book that will eat up some time and create some interest. I am planning on introducing some Youtube and Ted talks this week but I am unsure of how they will go.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Many thanks in advance,

Dave.

teechar

Staff member
Member Type
English Teacher
Native Language
English
Home Country
Iraq
Current Location
Iraq
Hi Dave, and welcome to the forum. :)
Always capitalize "English", and "one on one" as an adjectival needs a couple of hyphens. You need to get yourself some specialized books/resources. I'm no expert on business English, so I'll leave that for others to offer advice on.

Tdol

No Longer With Us (RIP)
Staff member
Native Language
British English
Home Country
UK
Current Location
Japan
Business English coursebooks are often a bit too general for such lessons. Drill down into their job a bit and use materials and texts that are more relevant to their actual work.

NinjaTurtle

Member Type
English Teacher
Native Language
English
Home Country
United States
Current Location
United States
Dave,

What of level of English are your student(s) at? High? Middle? Low?

Do you have a system for determining a student's level of English?

ESLplanner

Member Type
Academic
Native Language
English