Member Type
English Teacher
Native Language
Persian
Home Country
Iran
Current Location
Pakistan
Hi, I'm a teacher and have classes throughout the day. If someone calls me in the middle of a session, should I say I am in class/in a class?

Similarly, Given the scenario, if I have to inform someone I have a session starting soon, should I say "I have a class/I have class"?

Nam

Yankee

Banned
Member Type
Retired English Teacher
Native Language
English
Home Country
United States
Current Location
United States
Hi, I'm a teacher and have classes throughout the day. If someone calls me in the middle of a session, should I say I am in class/in a class?

Similarly, Given the scenario, if I have to inform someone I have a session starting soon, should I say "I have a class/I have class"?

Nam
In your first example "in class" would be more commonly used. (AmE)

In you second example, either one would be common but depending on the conversation/context, adding when the class would begin. e.g "...….in ten minutes".

Last edited:

Tarheel

VIP Member
Member Type
Interested in Language
Native Language
American English
Home Country
United States
Current Location
United States
If anybody ever calls you during class you should not answer the phone.

:-|

Phaedrus

Banned
Member Type
English Teacher
Native Language
English
Home Country
United States
Current Location
United States

"I have class."

or

"I have a class to teach."

(P.S. Outside context, the sentence "I have class" would be ambiguous. It could mean that you are elegantly stylish. Cf.: "I have a lot of class." :))

Phaedrus

Banned
Member Type
English Teacher
Native Language
English
Home Country
United States
Current Location
United States
This speaker of BrE would say only "I have a class (in ten minutes)".

Out of curiosity, would a BrE speaker say "I'm on my way to a class" if he were a student in the class or the teacher of the class?

Rover_KE

Staff member
Member Type
Retired English Teacher
Native Language