Student or Learner
    • Member Info
      • Native Language:
      • Croatian
      • Home Country:
      • Croatia
      • Current Location:
      • Croatia

Lightbulb Self-Study: If you have to start from scratch, how'd you do it?

Hi,

I stumbled upon this amazing forum, while browsing the internet, looking for a community where I can improve my English grammar.
    In advance, I would like to apologize for all grammar errors made in this post.

A little bit of info about myself. I've been using English language for about 20+ years and I am completely aware that my grammar is awful. I lost my job recently, and while I'm looking for employment, I would like to improve my English. I think now's the time, well, I have all the time, and I don't want to waste it.

I would have love to pay for instructions, unfortunately my current financial situation is not good at the moment, I simply can't. So, I was wondering if teachers could share tips on self-studying and how would you go about it if you have to teach yourself from scratch.

So, my questions are:
    How would you teach yourself all Parts of Speech?
    Which ones to start with first?
    Would you go one by one or with multiple classes? If multiple, which ones?
    How would you practice?

Where is my problem?
    I have always been a visual guy, as you can see, I can write, also I can easily remember words and their pronunciation. However, when it comes to rules, well, I simply just ... I don't know. I don't consider myself stupid, but I just can't grasp them. Perhaps, it has something to do with how I was taught in school about 20 years ago. I simply didn't have a good teacher, she was awful and old.