• Native Language:
      • Vietnamese
      • Home Country:
      • Vietnam
      • Current Location:
      • Vietnam

IMPROVING VOCABLARY

Hi all
    I am new to our community. Hope to be shared your tips in learning English.
    I have just learn EL for 3 month and I am having trouble in reading skill và learning new words. I am having intention of reading 1-2 article per night to know more new words.
    U think that is a good way to learn EL or not :(
    Help me. My brain is now a mess...
    Ths in advance

2. Editor, UsingEnglish.com
    English Teacher
    • Member Info
      • Native Language:
      • British English
      • Home Country:
      • UK
      • Current Location:
      • Japan

Re: IMPROVING VOCABLARY

Learn a few words at a time. Don't try to learn a lot- you'll forget them quickly. Recycle and repeat the words frequently until they are fixed in your long-term memory. Learn them in real sentences and contexts too to learn how and when they are used. Be patient. Also, remember that most native speakers don't use a very large vocabulary- they recognise a lot of words, but use fewer.

3. Newbie
    Student or Learner
    • Member Info
      • Native Language:
      • Vietnamese
      • Home Country:
      • Vietnam
      • Current Location:
      • Vietnam

Quote Originally Posted by Tdol View Post
    Learn a few words at a time. Don't try to learn a lot- you'll forget them quickly. Recycle and repeat the words frequently until they are fixed in your long-term memory. Learn them in real sentences and contexts too to learn how and when they are used. Be patient. Also, remember that most native speakers don't use a very large vocabulary- they recognise a lot of words, but use fewer.
    Thank you very muchhh
    I will try ^^

English Teacher
    • Member Info
      • Native Language:
      • British English
      • Home Country:
      • UK
      • Current Location:
      • UK

Quote Originally Posted by LoveEL View Post
    Hi all.