Member Type
Student or Learner
Native Language
Russian
Home Country
Russian Federation
Current Location
Russian Federation
Hello! This thread relates to "back here I can't even hold a job PARKING CARS!" by kadioguy (https://www.usingenglish.com/forum/threads/277434-back-here-I-can-t-even-hold-a-job-PARKING-CARS!). I left a comment there which was deleted by Rover KE with the following remarks, "incorrect, confusing, and does not state 'Not a teacher.'" As for the last one, my profile clearly says that I'm a student or learner, which makes it obvious that I'm not a teacher. Since I don't know what exactly was incorrect in my comment, I'll try to restore it from my memory and post here again so that teachers can check it up.

I have a guess why this construction confuses kadioguy. Compare the following sentences,

(1) I have a friend driving a taxi -> My friend drives a taxi.
(2) I have a job driving a taxi -> My job drives a taxi. (wrong) I drive a taxi. (OK)

To some learners, (2) might sound as if it is "a job" that drives a taxi.

At this point, I think (1) sounds unnatural, though grammatically correct, and doesn't mean "My friend drives a taxi" (= a taxi driver). But I'm not sure.

Would it be more appropriate if I wrote, "I have a friend writing books" -> "My friend is a writer"?

Last edited:

Tarheel

VIP Member
Member Type
Interested in Language
Native Language
American English
Home Country
United States
Current Location
United States
For the first one, try:

I have a friend who drives a taxi.*

As for the second one, "I have a job driving a taxi" is perfectly good. (The person's job is driving a taxi.)

-------------------------------------------------------------- -------- ----
*That form can be used for anything.

Alexey86

Member Type
Student or Learner
Native Language
Russian
Home Country
Russian Federation
Current Location
Russian Federation
I have a friend who drives a taxi.*