[Grammar] Motivational Letter - are my paragraphs correct?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Andsello

Member Type
Student or Learner
Native Language
Italian
Home Country
Italy
Current Location
Italy
Hello everyone! My name is Andrea and I'm a Computer Science student (Artificial Intelligence). I'm applying to Cambridge University and I wrote a motivational letter. Do you think I used a correct grammar and language for this kind of context? Do you notice any errors? I'm Italian and this is my first motivational letter, so I'm a bit scared to send it without a little help by an English teacher. Thank you!

Dear Cambridge University,

I am hereby applying for a one semester scholarship at a Master’s Degree in Computer Science at the Cambridge University.

My name is AF and I graduated in BS Computer Science from University of Pisa, Italy. My enthusiasm for a field that was in its full development in the past decade motivated me to follow a Informatics degree at high-school. During the course of my graduation I studied several diverse subjects e.g. Data Structures, Programming (C#, Java, Python) and Analysis of Algorithm and these subjects really helped me build a solid foundation in Computer Science and to become passionate about a branch of informatics that is becoming very important and that will condition the future of informatics and not only, that is, Artificial Intelligence. For this reason I’m currently studying for an MS degree in Artificial Intelligence at University of Pisa.

My purpose for applying to a one-semester mobility is both to expand my solid education and to create new opportunities for my future career. I am interested in learning and exploring new fields in Computer Science and I am eager to experience the student’s life abroad.