Member Type
Student or Learner
Native Language
Chinese
Home Country
China
Current Location
Denmark
hi y'all,i am currently a sophomore in high school in china. UPenn,UCB and NYU-Stern are my dream schools.As an international student,i was hoping to get the answers of questions below:1.what qualities do american colleges look for in an international student?2.is it true that it's super hard to get into an ivy school even with a high SAT and TOEFL score?/for instance,i heard that u need to get 1570+ in SAT to get into good schools like ucla or cornell.3.what abt the interview?4.how to write a great essay,what topic should i choose?Thank u all for ur responses :)

tedmc

VIP Member
Member Type
Interested in Language
Native Language
Chinese
Home Country
Malaysia
Current Location
Malaysia
Hi rhymegrace,

Welcome to the forum.

This is an English language forum where questions on English are discussed. Yours are questions about seeking admission to universities in the US, which should go to the appropriate forum.
However, you might like to take note of the following basic tips in your writing:
1. Start a sentence with a capital letter.
2. Capitalize names and "I".
3. Allow a space after a full -stop (period)/comma.
4. Use paragraphs where appropriate.

Last edited by a moderator:

Silverobama

Key Member
Member Type
Student or Learner
Native Language
Chinese
Home Country
China
Current Location
China
5. Don't use "u" or "ur" or something similar to mean "you", "your".

Captain

Member Type
Student or Learner
Native Language
Dutch
Home Country
Netherlands
Current Location
Netherlands
1. A high GPA and several extracurricular activities.
2. Yes, along with a near-perfect GPA, you need a competitive SAT score, which in those colleges is above 1560. Regarding English tests, a 6.5 band in the IELTS exam or a score of 85 in the TOEFL exam will suffice if you want to pursue a technical/IT major.