Member Type
Student or Learner
Native Language
Vietnamese
Home Country
Vietnam
Current Location
Vietnam
thanks in advance for spending time helping me with my problem. I am at B2 level, I have been learning English "properly" for 2 years now. My goal is to obtain IELTS 8.0 certificate.
MY QUESTION:
what is the difference between "in turn" and "in turns"?
I have searched for the answer, so this is what I found:
"In turn" means "in exchange, as a response to another action. "In turns" implies that two people or more are taking part in action and just means that one does the action first, then the other, then the other, then the first person, and so on.
-it is correct in some example: They took it in turns to breathe in the smoke, as the substance sizzled with a malicious delight.

I suppose I know for certain what "in turn" is. The problems is at :"in turns". I am being a little confused because of this example : Regular workout helps to stimulate the body's natural repair system, which, in turns, increases our general well-beings to a great extent.
This example shows a different usage of "in turns" which I showed you above. I really don' know why shouldn't I use "in turn" in red sentence but "in turns".

Thank you for your help, I am really grateful. By the way, I want to ask the difference between : 'In doing so" and "in so doing".
Sincere,

emsr2d2

Staff member
Member Type
English Teacher
Native Language
British English
Home Country
UK
Current Location
UK
Thanks in advance for spending time helping me with my problem. I am at B2 level; I have been learning English "properly" for 2 years now. My goal is to obtain IELTS 8.0 certificate.

[STRIKE]MY QUESTION:[/STRIKE]
My question:

What is the difference between "in turn" and "in turns"?

I have searched for the answer, [STRIKE]so[/STRIKE] and this is what I found: