Teaching English to Preschool Children

• Thread starter Rondee
  • Start date
  • Views : 93,420
Status
Not open for further replies.
R

Rondee

I teach a three-year-old Head Start class with 15 out of 17 children having a primary language other than English. In addition 8 of the 17 have Developmental Delays of one kind or another. I am struggling to find ways to increase vocabulary and verbal communication skills and hold the attention of those who understand English fairly well at the same time. Any ideas?

Tdol

No Longer With Us (RIP)
Staff member
Native Language
British English
Home Country
UK
Current Location
Japan
I hadn't seen this one!!! Unfortunately, I have no experience of teaching children of this age, so I can't really comment. Sorry. ;-)

E

ensenarIngles

For the most part, teaching English to 3-year olds should not be difficult because of their lack of proficiency in their native language. At my ESL program, all of the children learned verbal English without formal instruction (even though they all spoke Spanish natively), but needed help with written work. The reason is that children learn very easily. Merely show them an object and pronounce the word. For example, pick up a pencil and slowly pronounce the word. Also, word games are very fun for young children. The only problem arises when the children are trying to communicate something complicated to the adults such as wanting a snack or something else.

henry

ensenarIngles said: